Confession of an Avacado Addict

12 Feb

So I have a confession to make…Laura and I are addicted to avocados. Let’s just say that when we don’t have avocados or someone finishes the last one, all hell breaks loose (cue scene in mean girls)

2013-02-11 20.20.56

I’m just kidding we don’t actually get like that….

Anyways, instead of reading my super fun human memory textbook (yes I know I do procrastinate a lot), I decided to search for a new avocado recipe to try out (they do improve memory –I was applying techniques to improve my memory which would then help me remember what I am reading..so technically I wasn’t really procrastinating, right..???).

Anyways, I found this really good avocado pudding recipe. I had no idea avocado could be made into a pudding before. So I was like why not try it, what’s the harm??  (well besides being behind on my psychology readings – but it was totally worth it)

So I decided to make this avocado chocolate pudding. Taken  from How sweet it is.

Ingredients:

4 ripe avocados
1/4 cup light coconut milk
4 tablespoons unsweetened dark cocoa powder
3 tablespoons honey
2 ounces of dark chocolate (72% or higher), melted
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

2013-02-07 19.00.42

Directions:

Remove avocados from the skin (and pit) and place in a food processor. Blend until combined and creamy. Add in all remaining ingredients, blending until pureed, scraping down the sides when needed to combine. Taste and season/sweetened additionally if desired. Blend for a good 1-2 minutes until completely creamy, then serve with desired toppings.

Note: I have kept this in the fridge for about 24 hours successfully, just make sure to immediately place it in a seal tight container. If you would like a smaller serving, I’d suggest cutting the recipe in half.

2013-02-07 19.01.37

This turned out so good. Who could say no to avocado and chocolate??? I’ve already made two batches, one for my family and one for the roomies (everyone agreed that it was delicious).  Who needs regular store bought pudding, when you could have this amazing chocolate avocado pudding.  I would definitely recommend making this recipe!

What your favourite avocado recipe??

Until next time,

Denise and Laura

4 Responses to “Confession of an Avacado Addict”

  1. april February 12, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    Yummy!!!

  2. biz319 February 12, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    I was such a picky eater well into my 30’s – I didn’t even TRY an avocado until about 5 years ago! You have me intrigued though making a chocolate pudding with it! I’ll have to try that!

  3. cakewhiz February 14, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    i am crazy for avocados too! i have seen lots of pudding recipes with avocados and they all look so dreamy! yours is to die for…so much chocolate 😀

  4. Jane February 17, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    I’ve tried a version of the chocolate avocado pudding before too – so good! You wouldn’t even know there is avocado in it!

Leave a comment