Delicious Dinners

10 Feb

Hello!

Since we are on the theme of posting some of our experiments in the kitchen, I thought today would be a wonderful time to share some of the dinners we have been enjoying lately.

On Wednesday night, when Denise was in class late, I prepared this for dinner.

Image

(Ignore the yellow-ness of these photos… blame the artificial lighting in the dead of winter)

Above is oven roasted chicken with goat cheese sprinkled on top, a side of sauteed kale in olive oil with salt, and a warm bowl of squash soup. The soup was kindly made by Denise’s dad and sent up. Yum :)

On Thursday night, my other roommate and I prepared this for dinner:

Image

Beef chili with beans, brown rice, and a side of sweet potato fries. On a cold, snowy night, after a midterm this meal really hit the spot.

As usual we always have some green with our meal:

Image

Just some cut up romaine lettuce, lightly dressed in vinegar and oil with salt and pepper. Simple but nutritious.

And of course every winter evening is accompanied by some of this:

Image

Tea warms the soul.

I am sure many of you out there have heard about the storm this past Friday. Well, my school wasn’t cancelled so walking to class went something like this…

Image

Gotta love it.

Anyway, that’s what’s been up with the dinner situation lately. I think tonight shrimp is on the menu. Should be good!

What is you favourite dinner? Do you have any go-to meals?

Until next time friends,

Laura and Denise

2 Responses to “Delicious Dinners”

  1. Laura February 11, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    This was a great dinner! I also love having Denise’s mom’s squash soup :)
    One of the many benefits of living with such great cooks! If I lived on my own my go-to meal would likely be pasta, which I would eat every night (not very healthy I know), but I have been more inspired to cook since living with you two, so now I would say that a go to meal would be something very similar to the dinner pictured above :)

    • bakingwithbite February 12, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      Thanks Laura! I agree with you on the pasta, who can say no to pasta??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

